Tofu Fish Fingers

One of things I miss most of all as a vegan is fish. I have never missed anything else as there has always been a handy replacement lurking in the free from aisle or from our usual haunts. But fish often eluded me…not any longer. The secret in this non-fishy, fishy fish is the seaweed. Sheets of nori give this tofu dish the fishy kick it needs.

We make these as a sort of fat fish finger and serve with piles of chips.

You will need the following:

  • 1 pack of firm tofu (the pack from the fridge not the silken stuff)
  • 1 sheet of nori (usually found in the international aisle at our supermarket)

For the batter:

  • 225g plain flour
  • 3 teaspoons of baking powder
  • 285ml beer (make sure it’s vegan)
  • Extra plain flour for dusting
  • Oil for shallow frying (I use sunflower)

Method

Press the tofu to get out any excess moisture. I usually wrap mine in a clean tea towel and place between 2 chopping boards weighted down with a couple of tins.

I peel the spuds for the chips whilst I do this, probably around 15 mins.

Once the tofu is ready, slice into around 10 slices. Trim your nori sheet into pieces to match your tofu.

To make the batter whisk together the flour, baking powder and beer. It makes a very thick gloopy batter (at least it does when I make it!)

Depending on your pan (we use a wok), fill with about 1-2cm oil and heat over a medium temperature.

This part is messy! Dust your tofu in the flour and match with the nori. Dip the two together in the batter and pop in the oil. I usually cook in two batches, as that’s how many I can fit in my pan!

Once the tofu is golden on both sides, whip it out, drain on paper towels and it’s ready to eat.

Perfect after a day out at the seaside!

Leave a Reply

